Archive for the ‘Domain Name Scams’ Category

Nominet instructed to take down 1200 .co.uk domains by the Met Police

Wednesday, December 9th, 2009

This week Nominet received an instruction from the Metropolitan Police’s Central e-Crime Unit (PCeU) to take down around 1200 .co.uk domain names. These domain names have been under investigation for criminal activity.

As part of Operation Papworth, the PCeU have targeted web sites run by organised criminal networks that purported to sell designer items – clothes, jewellery and electronic goods.  Many of the sites involved supplied counterfeit goods or in some cases simply failed to supply any goods to the consumers who placed orders.  Nominet worked with the police and our registrars to quickly carry out the instruction to shut down access to these sites.

The scam websites were offering high demand, high value items such asUgg Australia Boots, ghd hair straighteners, and jewellery from Tiffany & Co and Links of London. Innocent shoppers were duped into making what appeared to be bargain purchases, but received either nothing at all or counterfeit products.

Let’s hope this quick action has not harmed the reputation of the UK domain registry or indeed the growth in online shopping.

Don’t fall for this Domain Name Scam

Tuesday, December 1st, 2009

Don’t fall for this domain name scam.  We just received the following email – we own the domain royal-jelly.co.uk hence their interest in informing us of this useful service!

We are a Domain Name registration service company, which is a professional Internet Domain Name Registration and dispute resolution organization in China.On November.27th,2009, We received HUATAI Investment company’s application that they are registering the name “royal-jelly” as their Internet Trademark and “royal-jelly.cn”、”royal-jelly.com.cn” 、”royal-jelly.asia”domain names etc.,It is China and ASIA domain names.But after auditing we found the brand name been used by your company. As the domain name registrar in China, it is our duty to notice you, so I am sending you this Email to check.According to the principle in China,your company is the owner of the trademark,In our auditing time we can keep the domain names safe for you firstly, but our audit period is limited, if you object the third party application these domain names and need to protect the brand in china and Asia by yourself, please let the responsible officer contact us as soon as possible. Thank you!

Looking forward to your reply.

Kind regards

——————————
Andy

Oversea marketing manager

Company: YIGUAN(CHINA)IT Co.,Ltd
Tel:+86(0)21 6296 2950
Fax:+86(0)21 6296 1557
web:www.ygurl.cn

More information about this scam here.